Sunday, September 19, 2021
Home Latest News Palace Announces Quarantine Guidelines For August 1-15

Palace Announces Quarantine Guidelines For August 1-15

Read below to check the updated quarantine classifications in your area.

President Rodrigo Duterte approved the quarantine classifications recommended by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF) for August.

Metro Manila and the nearby provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, and Laguna, also known as the National Capital Region (NCR) Plus, will remain under general community quarantine (GCQ) with heightened restrictions until August 15. (Read: What you should know about the General Community Quarantine scheme)

Under modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) are Ilocos Norte, Bataan, Lapu-Lapu City, and Mandaue City until August 15.

Meanwhile, Iloilo City, Iloilo Province, Cagayan de Oro City, and Gingoog City will still be under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) until August 7.

(April 8, 2020) Quarantine passes issued by barangays are still valid until the Iloilo City government issues a uniform pass. (Photo from Leo Solionap/Daily Guardian)

Quarantine classifications for August

Below are the provinces under each type of quarantine for the next few weeks.

ECQ (August 1-7)

  • Iloilo City
  • Iloilo Province
  • Cagayan de Oro City
  • Gingoog City

MECQ (August 1-15)

  • Ilocos Norte
  • Bataan
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Mandaue City

GCQ with heightened restrictions (August 1-15)

  • Metro Manila
  • Rizal
  • Cavite
  • Laguna
  • Bulacan
  • Lucena City
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Cagayan
  • Naga City
  • Antique
  • Aklan
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Negros Oriental
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao de Oro
  • Davao Occidental
  • Butuan City

GCQ (August 1-31)

  • Baguio City
  • Apayao
  • Cordillera Administrative Region
  • Santiago City
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Quirino
  • Quezon
  • Batangas
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Cotabato City

The rest of the country will stay under MGCQ for the entire month.

Circuit breaker lockdown 

People pass by a lockdown marker put in place to curb the spread of COVID-19 at a barangay in Paco, Manila on March 18, 2021. (Photo from Jonathan Cellona/ABS-CBN News)

The OCTA Research Group urged the government to impose a “circuit-breaker” lockdown for one to two weeks to curb the spread of the Delta variant in the country. (Read: What is the difference between MECQ, GCQ, and MGCQ?)

A BBC report explained that a circuit breaker lockdown is “a tight set of restrictions designed to reverse the tide of the epidemic and bring the number of cases down.”

“The rules could feel a lot like the original national lockdown, but crucially a circuit-breaker is for a fixed period of time,” it added.

Ang tingin namin, kung gagawin natin ‘to over the next 2 weeks, lalo na this week or next week, hindi lang natin mapababa ‘yong kaso. Masi-save pa natin ‘yong economy,” OCTA fellow Ranjit Rye said in a televised public briefing. 

The OCTA Research Group had previously suggested a circuit-breaker lockdown in March when COVID-19 cases in the country started to spike again. (Read: What businesses will be allowed to reopen in GCQ areas?)

NCR mayors want stricter quarantine

AID NEEDED. Jeepney drivers plying the Tandang Sora-Visayas Avenue-City Hall route beg for financial help from people passing by their terminal in Visayas Avenue, Quezon City, on April 27, 2020. (Photo by Angie de Silva / Rappler)

According to Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) chairman Benhur Abalos, Metro Manila mayors agreed to request stricter quarantine measures from IATF due to the recent surge of COVID-19 cases.

“After heeding the advice of health experts and assessment of the 17 Metro Manila mayors, it was agreed to strictly enforce the PDITR, and request at least 4 million vaccines to protect the NCR population against the possible spread of the dangerous Delta variant of COVID-19,” Abalos said.

He reiterated that the mayors were willing to revert to enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) for two weeks, provided that the national government has available funds for the Social Amelioration Program (SAP). (Read: Here’s The Truth About The Delta COVID-19 Variant That You Should Know)

“Needless to say, SAP is important to address the concerns of underprivileged families as they will be the ones who will be greatly affected by the ECQ declaration,” Abalos added.

Metro Manila mayors also requested an allocation of at least four million vaccines in NCR, which their local governments will administer during the two-week period.

Most Recent