Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Home Latest News Duterte Oks New Caloocan, Bulacan Districts, Splits Maguindanao Into Two Provinces

Duterte Oks New Caloocan, Bulacan Districts, Splits Maguindanao Into Two Provinces

Time to update your Philippine geography!

Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte has signed three new laws, effectively giving more legislative districts to the vote-rich areas of Caloocan and Bulacan, and splitting Maguindanao province into two.

Bulacan, a province known to have one of the biggest voting populations in Luzon, will now have six legislative districts, instead of four. Republic Act No. 11546 laid down the components of the six districts:

  • 1st District – Calumpit, Hagonoy, Paombong, Pulilan, Bulakan, and Malolos City
  • 2nd District – Baliuag, Bustos, and Plaridel
  • 3rd District – San Ildefonso, San Miguel, San Rafael, and Doña Remedios Trinidad
  • 4th District – Obando, Marilao, and Meycauayan City
  • 5th District – Guiguinto, Balagtas, Pandi, and Bocaue
  • 6th District – Santa Maria, Norzagaray, and Angat

Meanwhile, Caloocan will now have three districts because of Republic Act No. 11545 which splits the city’s first district into two. (Read: A List of Provinces and Cities Under the Different Quarantine Schemes Until July 15)

The new first district’s territorial jurisdiction covers Barangays 1 to 4, 77 to 85, and 132 to 177. The third district will cover Barangays 178 to 188. 

Maguindanao Split

Graphic representation of the division of Maguindanao into two provinces. (Photo from Inquirer.net)

Duterte also signed into law Republic Act No. 11550, which splits Maguindanao province into two. It created the new provinces of Maguindanao del Norte and Maguindanao del Sur, with capitals at Datu Odin Sinsuat and Buluan, respectively.

Presidential spokesman Harry Roque said that a ceremonial signing of the Maguindanao law was held on Wednesday. (Read: How the Maguindanao Massacre verdict sparks hope for our justice system)

Under RA 11550, Maguindanao del Norte will be composed of 12 municipalities, namely Barira, Buldon, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Kabuntalan, Matanog, Northern Kabuntalan, Parang, North Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan Mastura, and Talitay.

The 24 towns in Maguindanao del Sur are the following: Ampatuan, Buluan, Datu Abdulla Sangki, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Hoffer Ampatuan, Datu Montawal, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Datu Salibo, Datu Saudi Ampatuan, Datu Unsay, Gen. Salipada K. Pendatun, Guindulungan, Mamasapano, Mangudadatu, Pagalungan, Paglat, Pandag, Rajah Buayan, Sharif Aguak, Sharif Saydona Mustafa, Sultan sa Barongis, Talayan, and South Upi.

Both provinces are part of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Most Recent